2008 USCC BIR 200 Cross Country Race

PRESS RELEASE: Brainerd, MN (Feb. 24, 2008) – Shevlin, Minnesota racer, DJ Ekre, won the FXR Pro 600 class at the United States Cross-Country (USCC) circuit’s “BIR 200” in Brainerd, Minnesota. Ekre rode his Arctic Cat to a field-best time of 1 hour, fifty-six minutes, fifteen seconds. Second place rider Ryan Simons of Camrose, AB road his Arctic Cat with a time of 1 hour, fifty-seven minutes, three seconds. Third place went to Polaris rider Aaron Christensen of Metiskow, AB with a time of 1 hour, fifty-seven minutes, twenty-nine seconds.

The BIR 200 was the second leg of the Amsoil Triple Crown driven by Polaris. Ekre walked away with $3,000 for his first place finish in the FXR Pro 600 class. The FXR Pro 600 class took home $15,000 and the entire field took home more than $25,000 this past weekend.

There were 208 race entries. The race course distance was 4.2 miles, which included ditch and woods running. USCC’s final race of the season is the Hayward Area Chamber of Commerce 300 in Hayward, WI scheduled for March 1-2. The Hayward 300 is the third race of the Amsoil Triple Crown series. Races held in Garrison, MN, Brainerd, MN and Hayward, WI have formed Sled Head 24/7’s Amsoil Triple Crown. The races include large payouts, television coverage and spectator friendly, head-to-head racing.

Aaron Christensen of Metiskow, AB won the Ryde FX Pro Open class aboard his Polaris. Ryan Simons finished second aboard his Arctic Cat followed by Arctic Cat rider DJ Ekre. Lake Shore, MN Arctic Cat rider Dan Ebert won the Go Fast Sports Semi Pro 600 class. Ebert also won the Stud Boy Semi Pro Improved class.

Jason Kangas of Goodridge, MN won the Black Magic 440 class aboard his Arctic Cat. Christopher Sobeck of Winona, MN won the Action Graphics Fan 600 class aboard his Ski-Doo. Winona, MN Ski-Doo rider Jim Sobeck won the Orion Industries Masters 40+ class. Brad Cierzon of Winona, MN rode his Ski-Doo to a first place finish in the PowerMadd Amateur 600 Class. The Carver Performance Amateur Improved class was also won by Cierzon.

Polaris rider Paul Anderson of Lewiston, MN won the Sno-X Magazine Legends 50+ class. Alden, MN Arctic Cat rider Jolene Bute won the Parts Unlimited Women’s class. Tyler Kemppainen of Grand Rapids, MN won the Fox Shox Junior 14-17 class aboard his Ski-Doo. The Tekvest Junior 10-13 class was won by Arctic Cat rider Cole Lian from Thief River Falls, MN. Moorhead, MN

Polaris rider Gabe Bunke won the Scott USA Vet 30+ class. Trevor John of Cross Lake, MN won the Yamaha Sport 85 class aboard his Yamaha. Jack Bakker of Winnipeg, MB won the Snow Week Vintage class aboard his Ski-Doo. In the 120’s it was Polaris rider Matt Feil of Bemidji, MN winning the SnowTech Magazine 120 stock class and Sara Larson of Fisher, MN winning the SnowGoer Magazine 120 Improved class.

The United States Cross-Country Snowmobile Racing Association (USCC) is based out of Minto, ND and attracts more than 200 professional and amateur snowmobile racers to each of its events. The USCC series is North America’s premier form of cross-country snowmobile racing; it is the only racing organization that sanctions events comprised entirely of terrain cross-country races. The race courses include ditch lines, frozen lakes and deep woods trails. Its 2007-08 schedule marks the circuit’s sixth season with races hosted in Minnesota, North Dakota, Wisconsin and Michigan. The USCC is sanctioned by International Snowmobile Racing (ISR); ISR has been serving the racing community for more than 25 years. Please visit www.usccracing.com for more information.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s